20 20
  • Tribes & languages
• Cuisine
• Festivals
• Arts & Craft
  • Nature & Landscape
• People & Culture
• Buetterflys
  • Contact us
• Feedback Form
• Contribute
  Arunachal Pradesh is divided into sixteen districts. Select any ditstrict from the menu
to know more about it.
Places to Visit
Photo Gallery
/ Districts / tawang
Mooreed high up in the mountain ranges of the Himalayas, at 3500 meters above sea level is Tawang-the beautiful land of Monpas.

With sobriquets like: The Hidden Paradise or Land of Snowy Mountains; this magical land evokes images of awesome mountain views, remote hamlets, quaint and sleepy villages, magical Gompas, tranquil lakes and mesmerizing more. At Tawang, you have a heavenly tryst with nature at its best and the heady mixture of ancient history, mishmash religion and glorious legends.

Tawang is the land of holy monasteries and sacred environment. Beside the salubrious surroundings, snow capped mountains and serpent uphill roads; the oldest monastery situated in the heart of Tawang sanctifies the sacred atmosphere. This is one of the smallest districts of the state. The name Tawang derives from some bearings on surroundings. But people’s interpretation is that the name ‘Tawang’ was conferred by Mera Lama Lodre Gyaltso. This district is probably the most beautiful dist of AP with exotic locations and picturesque provinces.
All images on this website are the intellectual property of Amazing Arunachal. No replication or usage of any of the content is allowed without prior written authorization.
© Amazing Arunachal - 2008-2009 | For further information contact: siddiqui@amazingarunachal.com